fair participation


Wegweiser

Preparing your trade fair participation in 8 simple steps

 

Name a decision maker

It is simply impossible to do everything yourself! Focus on coordinating the processes and name a decision maker who has the competence and authority to do the right thing. Build a committee consisting of experts from sales and marketing; hold a round table to encourage and enforce moderated exchange of knowledge and experience. Clarifying requirements, wants and feasibility raises efficiency and lowers costs.

Define your target group

Surveying your existing customers allows you to categorize them. Not only company size, nationality and field of expertise, but also age and gender of your point of contact allow to deduce a matrix of your existing target group. But not only this, it also allows you to define the characteristics of possible leads you want to acquire for the future of your company. Only he who knows his target group can position his offers in the perfect light.

Formulate your participation targets

Deciding for a trade fair participation is the decision for a means of communication. It is critical to assess both the need and the argumentation for a participation for every single show that is planned. Quantify and qualify participation targets and define the means of controlling and measuring your success in a documented manner. Reduce to the maximum, when presenting yourself. Keep the focus on your core competencies and get rid of any pitchman attitude. 

Build your budget

Trade fair participations, independent of success and impact, are comparatively cost intensive. This makes it crucial to plan your investment carefully and to weigh your cost positions by individual contribution margin. Not only the price of the floor space, logistics and accommodation, but also planning, conception and accompanying actions have to be considered. Include the costs of the participation in your mid- and long-term strategy of your company and make them measurable in order to assess success and benefits.

Select your trade fair

Positioning your products and services precisely, is the central driver of success. Even before selecting a floor space, you should reconsider your participation in this very event. Markets are moving entities and trade fairs gain and lose significance. Maybe your product, though similar to the competition, is better positioned on another trade show. Survey the competition, analyze the market and whatever you plan to do, do it as early as possible. 

Plan your marketing approach

Linking the event on your company website, mailing your existing customers and an entry in the show┬┤s catalogue are doubtlessly essential tools of trade fair marketing. Everything beyond that has to contribute to your overall goals for this certain participation. Never forget, that valuable information can be won in the process, which helps further defining your targets and the best possible approach to gain new leads and customers.

Train your personnel

It cannot be emphasized enough, how critical well trained experts and service personnel are, who are familiar with the goals and targets of your trade fair participation as well as with your overall marketing-campaign. Brief your staff in written form, define points of contact and the distribution of their contact information. Set documentation standards for customer pitches and define rules of conduct for the appearance of and at the stand as well as how to deal with potential customers. A staff that works as a team raises trust for your company and products.

Evaluation

Only when proper evaluation of your documentation is possible, the true success of your trade fair participation becomes measurable. Give your team enough time for a thorough post processing of the fair. Collect feedback and call for insights, with both employees and customers. Follow the principle of continuous effort to improve in order to work out future goals and targets. After the show is right before the next one!

Egovision wishes you a successful trade show participation!

KMU gegen TTIP

Messevorbereitung


Wegweiser

Messevorbereitung in acht Schritten

 

Benennen Sie einen Entscheider

Unmöglich, alles selbst zu machen. Koordinieren Sie stattdessen die Abläufe. Benennen Sie einen geeigneten Entscheider und statten Sie diesen mit den nötigen Befugnissen aus. Bringen Sie Vertreter aus den Bereichen Verkauf und Marketing an einen Tisch, fordern & fördern Sie den moderierten Austausch von Erfahrungen. Eine konforme Herangehensweise steigert die Effizienz und senkt die Kosten.

Definieren Sie Ihre Zielgruppe

Eine genauere Betrachtung Ihrer Bestandskunden ermöglicht Ihnen, diese zu kategorisieren. Nicht nur Größe, Nationalität und das konkrete Betätigungsfeld des Unternehmens, sondern auch Alter & Geschlecht Ihres Ansprechpartners lassen Rückschlüsse auf Ihre Zielgruppe zu. Gleichermaßen stellt sich die Frage, welchen Adressaten Sie ansprechen und zukünftig gewinnen möchten. Nur wer seine Zielgruppe kennt, kann sein Angebot exakt platzieren.

Formulieren Sie Ihre Messeziele

Die Entscheidung für das Kommunikationsmittel Messe ist zu begründen und der Bestand des Bedarfs jedes Mal aufs Neue zu prüfen. Verschriftlichen Sie quantitative & qualitative Messeziele und legen Sie Mittel für Auswertung und Erfolgskontrolle fest. Reduzieren Sie die Selbstdarstellung auf das Wesentliche. Vermeiden Sie das Bauchladen-Prinzip und konzentrieren Sie sich auf Ihre Kernaussage. Weniger ist manchmal mehr.

Bilden Sie ein Budget

Messeteilnahmen sind, unabhängig von Erfolg und Nutzen, relativ kostenintensiv. Um so wichtiger, die Investition genau zu planen und die einzelnen Posten entsprechend zu gewichten. Nicht nur Standfläche, Logistik und Aufenthalt, sondern insbesondere Planung, Konzeption und begleitende Maßnahmen sind hier zu bedenken. Binden Sie die Kosten für Ihre Auftritte in Ihre mittel- und langfristige Ausrichtung ein und prüfen Sie Erfolg und Nutzen.

Wählen Sie eine Veranstaltung

Die richtige Platzierung Ihrer Produkte & Dienstleistungen bedingt den Erfolg. Vor der Wahl einer Standfläche, stellt sich zunächst die Frage nach der Veranstaltung. Branchen entwickeln sich schnell, internationale Messen gewinnen und verlieren an Bedeutung. Ähnliche Produkte können durchaus auf verschiedenen Ausstellungen vorteilhafter untergebracht sein. Beobachten Sie den Wettbewerb, analysieren Sie den Markt und was immer Sie tun - fangen Sie früh genug an.

Treffen Sie Marketing-Maßnahmen

Ein Link auf der Website, das Bestandskunden-Mailing und ein Katalog-Eintrag bilden zweifellos die Grundlage des Messe-Marketings. Darüber hinaus sind sämtliche Aktivitäten den individuellen Messezielen unterzuordnen und anzupassen. Nicht zu vergessen, dass an dieser Stelle wertvolle Informationen gewonnen werden, die sich zur Optimierung Ihrer Zielsetzungen nutzbar machen lassen.

Schulen Sie ihr Standpersonal

Unabdingbar für den erfolgreichen Auftritt ist, dass Mitarbeiter und Service-Personal Messeziele und Marketing-Kampagne verinnerlichen. Briefen Sie das Standpersonal schriftlich, geben Sie Kontaktinformationen und eine einheitliche Möglichkeit zur Gesprächs-Dokumentation weiter. Legen Sie klare Verhaltensregeln am Messestand und im Umgang mit potentiellen Kunden fest. Personal, das als Team funktioniert, weckt Vertrauen in Unternehmen und Produkt.

Nachbereitung

Erst die Auswertung einer jeden Messeteilnahme bringt Aufschluß über deren tatsächlichen Nutzen. Geben Sie Ihren Mitarbeitern ausreichend Zeit für eine sorgfältige Nachbereitung. Fragen Sie Ergebnisse ab, bündeln Sie das Feedback von Mitarbeitern und Kunden. Nach dem Prinzip der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung sind diese Resultate maßgeblich für die Erarbeitung zukünftiger Zielsetzungen. Nach der Show ist vor der Show. 

 

Egovision wünscht einen erfolgreichen Messeauftritt.

 

KMU gegen TTIP